Customer Service
Bookmark this page Print page Resize down Resize up

Historical maps (cancelled editions)

When a parish or town 'charting map' maintained by Crown Lands had so many amendments that no more changes could fit on it a new edition was drawn up and the old map became a 'cancelled' edition.

Cancelled editions of parish and town maps maintained by Crown Lands are available for viewing online in the Historical Land Records Viewer.

How can these records help?

Parish and Town maps are an important index to land information. By examining previous editions of maps at different points in time you can see how subdivisions and other actions have altered property boundaries.

The maps:

  • show the boundaries of individual land parcels in relation to physical features such as roads, rivers, railways and seashores
  • provide a reference to the Crown plans, the official survey plans for those parcels
  • may show the name of the first land owner, grantee or lessee and the first title information (Vol-Fol) for each parcel granted after 1863
  • shows administration activities over Crown lands such as reserves, licenses, leases and roads.

Accessing records

Free public access

Free access is currently through the  Historical Land Records Viewer.

Identifying records

The maps are generally identified by County, Parish and edition. NSW is divided into 141 counties, which are further subdivided into 7515 parishes. It is important to select the correct County as the same Parish name can exist in more than one County.

If you don't know the Parish name, use the Geographical Names Register to search by locality or suburb. The result of the search will include the Parish and County name.

In the Western Division, County maps remain the main historical reference map, except for proclaimed towns and villages that have their own maps.

back to top